The PMP Process Chart

The PMP exam is about understanding the structure of processes and how the project life-cycle goes through multiple processes within each phase of a project. Specifically, the PMBOK requires you to know thoroughly 49 processes that capture every essence of running a project. These 49 processes of project management are divided into 5 process groups and 10 knowledge areas.

Process Areas:

  • Initiating
  • Planning
  • Executing
  • Monitoring and Controlling
  • Closing

Knowledge Areas:

  • Project Integration Management
  • Project Scope Management 
  • Project Schedule Management
  • Project Cost Management 
  • Project Quality Management 
  • Project Resource Management
  • Project Communications Management
  • Project Risk Management
  • Project Procurement Management
  • Project Stakeholder Management

Click here to download the PMP process chart.